Who Will/should Get the Nobel Prize for the Higgs Boson?

Philip E. Gibbs^{*}

Abstract

Who will get the Nobel Prize for the Higgs discovery? Peter Higgs and François Englert seem to be certain but the committee can choose up to three living physicists. Will there be the third person? Let us have a poll.

Key Words: Higgs discovery, 2012, Nobel Prize, poll.

With the discovery of the Higgs Boson now in the bag it seems inevitable that someone will be getting a Nobel prize for it but who? There may even be two prizes, one for the theory and one for the experiment, but I think it more likely that only one prize will be awarded. Peter Higgs and François Englert seem dead certs but the committee can choose up to three living physicists. Will there be a third man and if so who? If you want a reminder of the history my <u>earlier chronology</u> of contributions may help.

The physics prize can only be given to living indivduals (unlike the peace prize which can be given to an organisation) so if they want to honour CERN they will have to give it to an individual representative.

So let's have a poll. Actually let's make it two. Assuming that I am correct about the first two laureates who else do you think *should* get the prize because they deserve it, and who else do you predict *will* get it.

Who else SHOULD get the Nobel Prize for the Higgs Boson (Polling is conducted at polldaddy.com. <u>Results</u> are based on votes as of July 27, 2012)

Phil Anderson **16.36%** (45 votes)

Jon Ellis **4.36%** (12 votes)

Lyn Evans **22.91%** (63 votes)

Jeffrey Goldstone **11.64%** (32 votes)

937

^{*} Correspondence: Philip E. Gibbs, Ph.D., Independent Researcher, UK. E-Mail: <u>phil@royalgenes.com</u> Note: This Special Report is adopted from : <u>http://blog.vixra.org/2012/07/09/who-willshould-get-the-nobel-prize-for-the-higgs-boson/</u>

Gerald Guralnik **2.91%** (8 votes)

Carl Hagen **1.82%** (5 votes)

Rolf Heuer **4%** (11 votes)

Gordy Kane 3.27% (9 votes)

Tom Kibble **11.27%** (31 votes)

Alexander Polyakov 2.55% (7 votes)

No third person **12.73%** (35 votes)

Other: **6.18%** (17 votes)

Total Votes: 275

Who else WILL get the Nobel Prize for the Higgs Boson (Polling is conducted at polldaddy.com. <u>Results</u> are based on votes as of July 27, 2012)

Phil Anderson 8.05% (14 votes)

Jon Ellis 4.6% (8 votes)

Lyn Evans **14.94%** (26 votes)

Jeffrey Goldstone **6.32%** (11 votes)

Gerald Guralnik **3.45%** (6 votes)

Carl Hagen 2.87% (5 votes)

Rolf Heuer 9.77% (17 votes)

Gordy Kane 2.87% (5 votes)

Tom Kibble **22.99%** (40 votes)

Alexander Polyakov **2.3%** (4 votes)

No third person **17.82%** (31 votes)

ISSN: 2153-8301

Other: **4.02%** (7 votes)

Total Votes: 174

By the way I don't think that the prize will be awarded this year because nominations needed to be in by the 1st January, unless some nominations were made based on evidence from last year.

Update: After a day of voting the clear leaders after "no third person" are Anderson, Evans, Goldstone and Kibble. Any of these would be a worthy winner and it is just unfortunate that the others (including Kibbles collaborators) would be overlooked. I don't think the rule of three will be changed but you have to wonder what will happen when a collaboration of four make a ground breaking discovery.

It is not unlikely that a separate prize will be given for the experiments. I sense that CERN are promoting Lyn Evans as the one who lead the LHC especially as he has now come back to take on the difficult task of leading the ILC project. In this case people will argue about whether the Tevatron also deserves recognition for their contribution. That will be another difficult question that could be conveniently dodged by splitting a prize across the discovery of top and the Higgs. The theory prize for the top prediction was given in 2008 to Kobayashi and Maskawa.

References

1. http://blog.vixra.org/2012/07/09/who-willshould-get-the-nobel-prize-for-the-higgs-boson/